Wednesday, March 14, 2007

March Madness: Midwest 1st Round

Both #3 Oregon and #14 Miami, of the Mid-American Conference, qualified for the NCAA Tournament by winning their respective conference tournaments. The Ducks are now the only team to have won the Pac-10 tournament twice since it was brought back in 2002.

Oregon and Miami met previously in the Ducks’ 1938-39 NCAA Championship season. Oregon beat Miami 74-38 in a game played on Dec. 20, 1938, in Cleveland while the Ducks were on an eight-game road trip through New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Michigan, Illinois and Iowa.

The Redhawks gained entry into the NCAA Tournament by defeating Akron 53-52 in the MAC tournament title game. Defensively, Miami holds opponents to 40.6% shooting from the field. After starting the year 5-10, Miami went 13-4 in posting one of the NCAA's top records the last two months of the season. Miami has felled some Pac-10 giants in recent NCAA Tournaments, most notably #2 Arizona in 1995 and Washington in 1999.

CBS will telecast the game live on Fri, Mar 16 at 2p.m. pacific time (it's Sat, Mar 17 5a.m. Malaysian time).

Go Ducks!

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails